Editorial Board

Last updated on: January 6, 2020

The editorial board comprises of a panel of experts from various disciplines of diagnostic pathology and other medical allied sciences to provide their expertise and guidance in maintaining the clarity of content and focus of the purpose for the journal.

Co-Editors-in-Chief

Lester J. Layfield, MD

University of Missouri,
Columbia, MO, USA
View Profile

Vinod B. Shidham, MD, FRCPath, FIAC

Wayne State University School of Medicine & Detroit
Medical Center, Detroit, MI, USA
View Profile

Assistant Editor

Nora Frisch, MD

The University of Vermont Medical Center,
Burlington, Vermont, USA

CytoJournal Monographs (CMAS)

CytoJ Monograph Committee Co-chairs

Zubair Baloch, MD, PhD

University of Pennsylvania Medical Center,
Philadelphia, PA, USA

Shikha Bose, MD

Cedars-Sinai Medical Center,
Los Angeles, CA, USA

CytoJ Monograph Coeditors-in-chief

R. Marshal Austin, MD, PhD

University of Pittsburgh Medical Center,
Pittsburgh, PA, USA

Ruth Katz, MD

M.D. Anderson Cancer Center,
Houston, TX, USA

David C. Wilbur, MD

Harvard Medical School,
Boston, MA USA

Cytotechnology Panel

Jamie L. Covell BS, CT(ASCP)

University of Pittsburgh Medical Center,
Pittsburgh, PA, USA

Inderpreet Dhillon, MS, CT (ASCP)

Detroit Medical Center,
Detroit, MI, USA

Kalyani Naik, MS, SCT(ASCP)

University of Michigan Hospital,
Ann Arbor, MI, USA

Hempath-Cytopath corner

Lead Section Editor

Ali M. Gabali, M.D., Ph.D.

Wayne State University School of Medicine,
Farmington Hills, MI, USA

Section Editors

Chung-Che (Jeff) Chang, MD, PhD, FCAP

Florida Hospital,
Orlando, FL, USA

Kedar V. Inamdar, MD

Henry Ford Hospital,
Detroit, MI, USA

Lauren Barrett Smith, MD

University of Michigan,
Ann Arbor, MI, USA

Michael Gerard Baryerl, MD

Penn State College of Medicine,
Hershey, PA, USA

Quiz Case Section

Section editor

Tamar Giorgadze, MD, PhD

Weill Cornell Medical College,
New York, NY, USA

QC section members

Amarpreet Bhalla, MD

Wayne State University School of Medicine,
Detroit, MI, USA

Linette Mejias-Badillo, MD

Wayne State University School of Medicine,
Detroit, MI, USA

Associate editors (Rotating)

Shikha Bose, MD

Cedars-Sinai Medical Center,
Los Angeles, CA, USA

David C. Chhieng, MD, MBA, MSHI

Yale University,
New Haven, CT, USA

Mamatha Chivukula, MD

University of Pittsburgh Medical Center,
Pittsburgh, PA, USA

Isam A. Eltoum, MD, MBA

The University of Alabama at Birmingham,
Birmingham, AL, USA

Rana S. Hoda, MD, FIAC

Weill Cornell Medical College,
New York, NY, USA

Nirag Jhala, MD, MIAC

University of Pennsylvania Medical Center,
Philadelphia, PA, USA

Sanjay Logani, MD, MIAC

InCyte Pathology,
Spokane Valley, WA, USA

Sonya Naryshkin, MD, FIAC

Mercy Health System,
Janesville, WI, USA

Liron Pantanowitz, MD

University of Pittsburgh Medical Center,
Pittsburgh, PA, USA

Husain Saleh, MD, FIAC, MBA

Wayne State University School of Medicine,
Detroit, MI, USA

Momin T. Siddiqui, MD, FIAC

Emory University,
Atlanta, GA, USA

Lourdes R. Ylagan, MD, FIAC

Roswell Park Cancer Institute,
Buffalo, NY, USA

CytoJournal Editorial Board Members

R. Marshall Austin

MD, PhD (USA)

Zubair Baloch

MD, PhD (USA)

George Birdsong

MD (USA)

Thomas A. Bonfiglio

MD (USA)

Shikha Bose

MD (USA)

David C. Chhieng

MD, MBA, MSHI (USA)

Mamatha Chivukula

MD (USA)

Douglas P Clark

MD (USA)

Michael B. Cohen

MD (USA)

Diane D Davey

MD (USA)

Richard M DeMay

MD (USA)

Hormoz Ehya

MD (USA)

Isam A. Eltoum

MD, MBA (USA)

James England

MD, PhD (USA)

Yener S Erozan

MD (USA)

Prabodh Gupta

MBBS,MD, FIAC (USA)

Amanda Herbert

MBBS, FRCPath (UK)

Rana S. Hoda

MD (USA)

Nirag Jhala

MD, MIAC (USA)

Kusum Kapila

MD, FIAC, FRCPath (Kuwait)

Ruth Katz

MD (USA)

Savitri Krishnamurthy

MD (USA)

Leyster Layfield

MD (USA)

Santo V Nicosia

MD (USA)

Virginia LiVolsi

MD (USA) 

Britt-Marie Ljung

MD (USA)

Sanjay Logani

MD, FCAP, FASCP, MIAC (USA)

Shahla Masood

MD (USA)

Dina R Mody

MD (USA)

Sonya Naryshkin

MD, FIAC (USA)

Martha B Pitman

MD ((USA)

Liron Pantanowitz

MD (USA)

David C Wilbur

MD (USA)

Husain Saleh

MD, FIAC, MBA (USA)

Torill Sauer

MD (Norway)

Volker Schneider

MD, FIAC (Germany)

Suzanne Selvaggi

MD (USA)

Momin T. Siddiqui

MD, FIAC (USA)

Vinod B Shidham

MD, FRCPath, FIAC (USA)

Mary K Sidawy

MD (USA)

Rosemary Tambouret

MD(USA)

Jan F Silverman

MD (USA)

Philippe Vielh

MD (France)

Lourdes R. Ylagan

MD, FIAC (USA)

Kusum Verma

MBBS, MD, MIAC (India)

International Editorial Panel

Argentina

Ricardo Drut, MD

patologi@netverk.com.ar
Hospital De Ninos, La Plata, Argentina

Boris Elsner, MD

belsner@elsitio.net
Argentina

Lucrecia Illescas, MD, FIAC

illescas@fibertel.com.ar
Instituto Papanicolaou,
Buenos Aires, Argentina

Australia

Andrew Field MB BS (Hons), FRCPA, FIAC

Dip of Cytopath (RCPA),
afield@stvincents.com.au,
St Vincents Hospital,
New South Wales, Australia

Belgium

John-Paul Bogers, MD, PhD

john-paul.bogers@ua.ac.be
University of Antwerp- Campus Groenenborger,
Antwerp (Wilrijk), Belgium

Alain Verhest, M.D., PhD., FIAC

alainverhest@yahoo.com,
Institut Jules Bordet,
Brussels, Belgium

Brazil

Joao Prolla, MD

jcprolla@yahoo.com
Hospital de Clinicas de Porto Alegre,
RS, Brazil

Vinicius Duval da Silva, MD, M.I.A.C.

vinids@pucrs.com, vinids@terra.com,
Hospital Sao Lucas da PUCRS – IPB,
Porto Alegre, Brazil

Canada

Manon Auger, MD, FRCP(C)

manon.auger@mcgill.ca,
McGill University Health Center,
Montreal, PQ, Canada

Diponkar Banerjee, MBChB, FRCPC, PhD

dbanerje@bccancer.bc.ca
BC Cancer Agency,
Vancouver BC, Canada

Terence J. Colgan, MD,FRCPC,FCAP,MIAC

tcolgan@mtsinai.on.ca,
Mount Sinai Hospital,
Toronto, ON, Canada

China

Terence J. Colgan, MD, FRCPC, FCAP, MIACDongge Liu , MD/PhD

liudongge@sohu.com,
Beijing Hospital,
Beijing 100730, P.R. China

France

Beatrix Cochand-Priollet, MD, Ph D, MIAC

beatrix.cochand-priollet@lrb.ap-hop-paris.fr
Lariboisière Hospital,
Paris cedex, France

Jerzy Klijanienko, MD

Jerzy.Klijanienko@curie.net
Institut Curie,
Paris, France

Germany

Magnus von Knebel Doeberitz, MD, PhD

knebel@med.uni-heidelberg.de,
University of Heidelberg,
Heidelberg, Germany

Ulrich Schenck MD

ulrich@schenck.de,
Technical University of Munich,
Munich, Germany

India

Deepali Jain, MD, DNB, MNAMS, FIAC

deepalijain76@gmail.com,
All India Institute of Medical Sciences,
New Delhi, India

Shubhada Kane, MD

drsvkane@gmail.com,
Tata Memorial Hospital,
Mumbai, India

Prakash Patil, MD, PhD

drprakash_patil@yahoo.co.in,
JN Medical College,
Belgaum, India

Arvind Rajwanshi, MD, MNAMS, FRCPath

rajwanshiarvind@gmail.com,
Post Graduate Institute of Medical Education & Research,
Chandigarh, India

Ravi Mehrotra, MD, MNAMS

rm8509@gmail.com,
Institute of Cytology and Preventive Oncology (ICPO),
Noida, UP, India

Italy

Guido Fadda, MD

guidofadda@rm.unicatt.it,
Catholic University – Largo Francesco Vito,
Rome, Italy

Pio Zeppa M.D.

zeppa@unina.it
Università di Napoli “Federico II”,
Napoli, Italy

Japan

Toshiaki, Kawai, MD

tkawai@cc.ndmc.ac.jp
National Defense Medical College,
Tokyo, Japan

Robert Y. Osamura, MD

osamura@is.icc.u-tokai.ac.jp
Tokai University School of Medicine,
Kanagawa, Japan

Jordan

Lebanon

Maher A. Sughayer, MD

msughayer@khcc.jo, msughair@hotmail.com
King Hussein Cancer Center,
Amman, Jordan

Nina Salem Shabb, MD

ns04@aub.edu.lb
American Unicversity of Beirut,
Medical Center, Beirut, Lebanon

Netherlands

Norway

Mathilde E. Boon, MD

m.e.boon@lcpl.nl
Leiden Cytology & Path Laboratory,
Leiden, The Netherlands

Torill Sauer, MD

torill.sauer@medisin.uio.no
Akershus University Hospital,
1478 Lørenskog, Norway

Pakistan

Poland

Syed Mulazim Hussain Bukhari, MBBS,DCP,FCPS, PhD

drmhbukhari@yahoo.com
King Edward Medical University,
Lahore, Pakistan

Włodzimierz T. Olszewski, MD PhD

wtolszewski@coi.waw.pl
Institute of Oncology,
Warsaw, Poland

Portugal

Margarida Almeida, MD

Margarida.Almeida@hsm.min-saude.pt
Hospital Santa Maria,
Lisbon, Portugal

Evelina Mendonça, MD, MIAC

emendonca@ipolisboa.min-saude.pt
Instituto Português de Oncologia – Centro Regional de
Lisboa,
Lisboa, Portugal

Fernando Carlos de Landér Schmitt, MD

Fernando.Schmitt@ipatimup.pt
da Universidade do Porto,
Porto, Portugal

Saudi Arabia

Mousa A. Al-Abbadi, MD, FCAP, FIAC

mabbadi@kfsh.med.sa
King Fahad Specialist Hospital – Dammam,
KSA

Singapore

Alexander Russell Chang, MD (Otago), FRCPA

FHKCP patarc@nus.edu.sg
National University of Singapore,
Singapore

Aileen Wee, MBBS, MRCPath, FRCPA

patweea@nus.edu.sg
National University Hospital,
Singapore

South Africa

Pam Michelow, MBBCh, MSc (Med Sci), MIAC

afainman@iafrica.com
National Health Laboratory Service (NHLS),
Johannesburg, South Africa

Spain

Jose M. Rivera Pomar, MD

jmrivera@hcru.osakidetza.net
Universidad Del Pais Vasco,
Bilbao, Spain

Mercedes Santamaria Martinez, MD

mersantamaria@medena.es
Hospital De Navarra,
Pamplona, Spain

Sweden

Annika Dejmek, MD, PhD

annika.dejmek@pat.mas.lu.se
Malmö, Lund University,
Malmo, Sweden

Karin Lindholm, MD

karin.e.lindholm@telia.com
Malmo University Hospital,
Malmo, Sweden

Edneia Tani, MD

edneia.tani@karolinska.se
Karolinska Hospital,
Stockholm, Sweden

Turkey

Binnur Uzmez Onal, MD, FEBP, FIAC

binnurn@yahoo.com
SSK Training & Research Hospital,
Ankara, Turkey

Mehmet Akif Demir, MD

akifdemir@vgregion.se
Celal Bayar University,
Manisa, Turkey

UK

John H. F. Smith, MD

John.H.Smith@sth.nhs.uk
Royal Hallamshire Hospital,
Sheffield, UK

Allan Wilson, MD

Allan.Wilson@lanarkshire.scot.nhs.uk
Monklands Hospital,
Airdrie, UK

Uruguay

Vietnam

Carmen Alvarez Santin, MD

alsanbla@adinet.com.uy
Laboratorio de Anatomía Patológica y Citología. Facultad
de Medicina. Montevideo, Uruguay

Nguyen Sao Trung, MD, PhD

nsaotrung@yds.edu.vn
University of Medicine and pharmacy,
Ho Chi Ming city, Vietnam.

CytoJournal Virtual Trainee (CVT) Corner

Section Editors

Walid E. Khalbuss, M.D., Ph.D

Lead Section Editor
University of Pittsburgh Medical Center,
Pittsburgh, PA, USA

Zubair Baloch, MD, PhD

University of Pennsylvania Medical Center,
Philadelphia, PA, USA

Guido Fadda, MD

Catholic University – Largo Francesco Vito,
Rome, Italy

Liron Pantanowitz, MD

University of Pittsburgh Medical Center,
Pittsburgh, PA, USA

Paul Tranchida, MD

Wayne State Univ School of Medicine & DMC,
Detroit, MI, USA

Medicolegal Panel

Dennis R. McCoy, JD

Hiscock & Barclay, Attorneys at Law,
New York, NY,

Mark S. Sidoti, Esq.

Gibbons PC,
New York, NY,

Michael S. Berger, JD

Andres & Berger, P.C.,
Haddonfield, NJ, USA

Ken Gatter, MD, JD

gatterk@ohsu.edu
Oregon Health and Sciences University,
Portland

Statistical Advisor

Global Health (Cytology)

Varghese George, PhD

(USA)

Rajan Dewar, MD PhD

Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center & Harvard Medical School,
Boston, MA, USA

Managing Editor

Anjani Shidham, BS

(USA)